NHL announces dates for 2020 draft, opening of free agency

The New York Rangers won Phase 2 of the 2020 NHL Draft Lottery, giving them the first overall pick in this year's draft. (Mike Stobe/Getty)

The 2020 NHL Draft will take place on Oct. 6 and 7 followed by the opening of free agency on Oct. 9, the league announced on Friday.

The draft will be held virtually over the two-day period with Round 1 taking place at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT on Tuesday, Oct. 6 and Rounds 2-7 on Wednesday, Oct. 7, starting at 11:30 a.m. ET/8:30 a.m. PT.

Free agency will open on Friday, Oct. 9 at 12 p.m. ET/9 a.m. PT.

The dates for the draft and the opening free agency align with the last possible day of the Stanley Cup Final, which is Sunday, Oct. 4.

The New York Rangers hold the No. 1 pick in the upcoming draft after winning the Second Phase of the draft lottery on Aug. 10, earning the chance to select top prospect Alexis Lafreniere.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.