NHL reveals order of selection for 2020 draft

NHL Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly announces draft positions during Phase 1 of the 2020 NHL Draft Lottery on June 26, 2020 at the NHL Network's studio in Secaucus, New Jersey. (Bruce Bennett/NHLI via Getty Images)

The stage is set for next week's NHL draft.

The league announced Tuesday the order of selection at the 2020 affair, taking place virtually across two days with Round 1 commencing at 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT on Oct. 6 and Rounds 2-7 at 11:30 a.m. ET / 8:30 a.m. PT on Oct. 7. Both days will be broadcast on Sportsnet.

The New York Rangers won the No. 1 pick at the Second Phase of the 2020 NHL Draft Lottery in August, giving them the chance to select consensus top talent Alexis Lafreniere.

Here's how the rest of the first round will shake out:

1. NY Rangers
2. Los Angeles
3. Ottawa (from SJS)
4. Detroit
5. Ottawa
6. Anaheim
7. New Jersey
8. Buffalo
9. Minnesota
10. Winnipeg
11. Nashville
12. Florida
13. Carolina (from TOR)
14. Edmonton
15. Toronto (from PIT)
16. Montreal
17. Chicago
18. New Jersey (from ARI)
19. Calgary
20. New Jersey (from VAN via TBL)
21. Columbus
22. NY Rangers (from CAR)
23. Philadelphia
24. Washington
25. Colorado
26. St. Louis
27. Anaheim (from BOS)
28. Ottawa (from NYI)
29. Vegas
30. Dallas
31. San Jose (from TBL)

The full draft order can be seen here.

When submitting content, please abide by our  submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.