NHL unveils 2021 schedule with Canadiens-Leafs, Oilers-Canucks on opening night

Toronto Maple Leafs' Auston Matthews moves in on Montreal Canadiens goaltender Carey Price during first period NHL hockey action in Montreal, Saturday, Feb. 8, 2020. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Graham Hughes

The NHL has unveiled each team's full 56-game schedule for the 2020-21 season, featuring a pair of all-Canadian games with the Montreal Canadiens taking on the Toronto Maple Leafs and the Vancouver Canucks playing Edmonton Oilers on opening night.

The three other games on the first night of the 2020-21 season include the Chicago Blackhawks taking on the Tampa Bay Lightning who will be raising their Stanley Cup championship banner along with the Pittsburgh Penguins visiting the Philadelphia Flyers and the St. Louis Blues taking on the Colorado Avalanche. The 56-game regular-season schedule will conclude on Saturday, May 8 with the first round of the Stanley Cup Playoffs starting May 11.

Each team in the East, Central and West divisions will play every other team in its division eight times while each team in the North Division will play every other team in its division nine or 10 times. The top four teams in each division will qualify for the Stanley Cup Playoffs, with intradivisional play in the first two rounds.

The four teams that advance to the semifinal round would be seeded by their regular-season points total, with the No. 1 seed playing the No. 4 seed in one series and the No. 2 and No. 3 seeds meeting in the other. Formal training camps will begin on Jan. 3. There will be no pre-season games. The seven teams that did not qualify for the playoffs will open their training camps as early as Dec. 31.

Below are the schedules for all 31 NHL teams for the 2021 season.


Toronto Maple Leafs

Montreal Canadiens

Ottawa Senators

Winnipeg Jets

Edmonton Oilers

Calgary Flames

Vancouver Canucks


Boston Bruins

Buffalo Sabres

New Jersey Devils

New York Islanders

New York Rangers

Philadelphia Flyers

Pittsburgh Penguins

Washington Capitals


Carolina Hurricanes

Chicago Blackhawks

Columbus Blue Jackets

Dallas Stars

Detroit Red Wings

Florida Panthers

Nashville Predators

Tampa Bay Lightning


Anaheim Ducks

Arizona Coyotes

Colorado Avalanche

Los Angeles Kings

Minnesota Wild

San Jose Sharks

St. Louis Blues

Vegas Golden Knights

When submitting content, please abide by our  submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.
We use cookies to improve your experience. Learn More or change your cookie preferences. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies.