Did Rangers’ Trouba deserve a major for high elbow on Panthers’ Rodrigues?

Watch as New York Rangers' Jacob Trouba dodges a major penalty despite elbowing Panthers' Evan Rodrigues to his head.

Florida Panthers coach Paul Maurice may not have wanted to discuss Jacob Trouba‘s controversial elbow, but it was the talk of the hockey world after Game 3 of the Eastern Conference Final.

The New York Rangers captain delivered a high elbow to the head area of Panthers forward Evan Rodrigues late in the second period on Sunday. It was originally called a major penalty, but upon review was downgraded to a minor.

Rodrigues was down on the ice for several minutes with a trainer before skating to the locker room. He returned for the third period.

The Rangers went on to win the game 5-4 in overtime and have a 2-1 lead in the series.

[brightcove videoID=6353728232112 playerID=JCdte3tMv height=360 width=640]

Maurice declined to talk about the play afterward.

“I think I’ve got enough on my plate,” he said. “I’m not going to do any refereeing or player safety tonight.”

Rule 45.3 of the NHL rulebook states: “A major penalty, at the discretion of the Referee, shall be imposed on any player who uses his elbow to illegally check an opponent. A major penalty must be imposed under this rule for an infraction resulting in an injury to the face or head of an opponent.”

Trouba has been in trouble before, earning two suspensions and two fines in his career.

Here’s a look at some of the reaction to the play on social media.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.