NHL postpones Golden Knights-Avalanche game at Lake Tahoe due to ice issues

Members of the Colorado Avalanche, in white, and the Vegas Golden Knights, red play during the first period of a game at Lake Tahoe. (Rich Pedroncelli/AP)

The NHL has postponed Saturday’s Lake Tahoe game between the Vegas Golden Knights and Colorado Avalanche after one period due to ice issues caused by weather.

NHL commissioner Gary Bettman said in an appearance on the broadcast that the game will continue at midnight ET/9 p.m. PT. The Avalanche currently lead 1-0 after a goal from Sam Girard.

Live coverage will resume on Sportsnet ONE at midnight ET, and will be on Sportsnet as well following the conclusion of tonight’s game between the Calgary Flames and Edmonton Oilers.

Sun caused issues during the first period with players and officials stumbling in ruts in the ice. After the conclusion of the first period, the NHL announced a delay to allow staff to work on the ice, which included covering sections with a tarp to keep the sun off it.

The Boston Bruins and Philadelphia Flyers are scheduled to play on the same ice surface Sunday. That game has been delayed until 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT due to weather conditions. The Bruins and Flyers were scheduled to practice on the Lake Tahoe rink Saturday morning but were forced to take things indoors due to poor ice conditions.

While weather has disrupted NHL outdoor games in the past — including delaying start times — this is the first time a game has been postponed before it could be completed.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.