Finland’s Selanne named tournament MVP

Teemu Selanne was named the tournament MVP while defenceman Drew Doughty was the only Canadian named to the all-tournament Olympic team (Matt Slocum/AP)

Team Canada was the undisputed top squad at the Olympic hockey tournament in Sochi, but only one member of the gold-medal winning side was named to the All-Tournament team.

That honour went to defenceman Drew Doughty, who was named alongside Swedish goalie Henrik Lundqvist, Swedish defenceman Erik Karlsson, Finnish forwards Teemu Selanne, Mikael Granlund, and American forward Phil Kessel. The team was selected by members of the Olympic hockey media.

The 43-year-old Selanne was also named the most valuable player of the tournament. He captained Finland to a bronze medal, leading his team with four goals, including two against the United States in the bronze-medal game. Selanne became the oldest player in Olympic hockey history to register a goal and win an Olympic hockey medal.

Carey Price, who didn’t allow a goal in Canada’s final two games, was named the top goaltender in the tournament by the International Ice Hockey Federation directorate. Price finished the Olympics with a shutout streak of 164 minutes and 19 seconds.

The Montreal Canadiens goaltender registered a 5-0 record, 0.59 goals-against average and .972 save percentage for Canada throughout the tournament.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.