UEFA’s Collina wants keepers to stay on line for penalties

Pierluigi Collina says a strict interpretation of the rules was stressed to European Championship referees at Friday's debriefing before the knockout rounds where penalty shootouts are a factor. (Ivan Sekretarev/AP)

PARIS — Goalkeepers who leave their goal-line early to save a penalty should get a yellow card and the kick should be retaken, UEFA’s head of referees said Friday.

Pierluigi Collina acknowledged it was wrong of referee Bjorn Kuipers to let Croatia goalkeeper Danijel Subasic advance so far from his line to save a Sergio Ramos penalty kick for Spain at the European Championship on Tuesday.

"Unfortunately, that goalkeeper moved forward, it was not spotted by the referee’s team," Collina said at a briefing. "It was a mistake in a match refereed well."

MORE ON EURO 2016: Sportsnet has you covered with in-depth coverage of Euro 2016 in France, which runs from June 10 to July 10.

Match schedule || Group standings || Live scoreboard || Latest news

Profiles: All 24 teams || History of Euro || Top 10 moments in Euro history

Sportsnet’s predictions || 10 players to watch || 5 key group stage games

Feature stories || Soccer Central podcast || Team roster lists ||

Collina said he stressed a strict interpretation of the rules at a Friday debriefing for the 12 referees retained for the Euro 2016 knockout rounds. Those included Kuipers of the Netherlands, who handled the Croatia-Spain match.

When the round of 16 starts Saturday, penalty shootouts can come into play to settle matches.

"Of course, referees should pay attention that the penalty kicks are taken correctly," Collina, who officiated the 2002 World Cup final, said at a briefing. "It will be retaken and, as the laws of the game say, the goalkeeper will be cautioned."

Subasic’s save created confusion about UEFA’s current interpretation of Law 14 regarding the penalty kick, which requires goalkeepers to stay on their line until the ball is touched.

The save kept the score 1-1 before Croatia went on to win 2-1, topping the group and sending Spain to a round of 16 match against Italy.

"It was a mistake, unfortunately it happens," Collina said. "It is not a trend. It was one single incident where the goalkeeper moved before the penalty kick was taken."

Collina also reminded that penalty takers can be punished twice for breaking the rules.

"Whenever the penalty taker makes an illegal feinting, the penalty is not retaken and the player is cautioned," the Italian official said.

Players from the 16 teams remaining at Euro 2016 will not get a special reminder of the rules on penalty kicks.

"Everyone should know what he is allowed to do or not," Collina said. "We cannot start recommending to each player to do something or not do something. It is not the work of the referee or the (match) delegate.

"We trust in players."

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.