Argentina, Britain given wild card spots in new Davis Cup finals


Andy Murray, of Great Britain. (Mark J. Terrill/AP)

LONDON — Argentina and Britain have been given wild-card slots into the finals of the revamped Davis Cup.

They will join 16 other teams in the finals of the international tennis competition in November 2019, including 2018 semifinalists Croatia, France, Spain and the United States.

The lineup will be completed by the 12 winners from qualifiers being held in February.

Britain won the Davis Cup title in 2015 and Argentina won the following year.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.