University Cup: Alberta named No. 1 seed

Jordan Hickmott was the top goal-scorer for the Golden Bears in the regular season, with 16 goals in 28 games. (Golden Bears / Pandas Athletics)

For the second straight year, the University of Alberta Golden Bears have earned the No. 1 seed heading into the CIS men’s hockey championship in Saskatoon.

The PotashCorp University Cup presented by Co-op, hosted by the University of Saskatchewan, gets underway on Thursday at the Credit Union Centre and culminates next Sunday with the gold-medal final, live on Sportsnet.

Joining Canada West champion Alberta at the competition will be the second-seeded Acadia Axemen (AUS champs), No. 3 Windsor Lancers (OUA champs), No. 4 McGill Redmen (OUA finalists), No. 5 Saskatchewan Huskies (hosts) and No. 6 Carleton Ravens (OUA bronze medallists).

Alberta will skate in Pool A with McGill and Carleton in the round-robin portion of the tourney, while Acadia, Windsor and Saskatchewan battle in Pool B. Opening day will see the Golden Bears take on the Ravens at 1 p.m. and the Axemen square off against the Lancers at 7 p.m.

The Bears are the most decorated team in CIS men’s hockey history with 13 University Cup titles. Acadia (2), McGill (1) and Saskatchewan (1) have also claimed the CIS banner in the past.


1. Alberta Golden Bears
(CWUAA champions: 25-2-1 regular season / 4-0 playoffs)

2. Acadia Axemen
(AUS champions: 21-4-3 regular season / 6-2 playoffs)

3. Windsor Lancers
(OUA champions: 17-11-0 regular season / 7-1 playoffs)

4. McGill Redmen
(OUA finalists: 21-5-2 regular season / 6-2 playoffs)

5. Saskatchewan Huskies
(Hosts: 17-10-1 regular season / 1-2 playoffs)

6. Carleton Ravens
(OUA bronze medallists: 22-5-1 regular season / 6-3 playoffs)

Pool A
1. Alberta
4. McGill
6. Carleton

Pool B
2. Acadia
3. Windsor
5. Saskatchewan


(all times listed are CT)

Thursday, March 20
Pool A #1: Alberta vs. Carleton, 1 p.m.
Pool B #1: Acadia vs. Windsor, 7 p.m.

Friday, March 21
Pool A #2: Loser Pool A #1 vs. McGill, 1 p.m.
Pool B #2: Loser Pool B #1 vs. Saskatchewan, 7 p.m.

Saturday, March 22
Pool A #3: Winner Pool A #1 vs. McGill, 2 p.m. (Sportsnet 360)
Pool B #3: Winner Pool B #1 vs. Saskatchewan, 7 p.m. (Sportsnet 360)

Sunday, March 23
Final, 1:30 p.m. (Sportsnet)

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.