Dinos’ Buckley wins second straight Hec Crighton

Andrew Buckley has won his second straight Hec Crighton. (Photo: David Moll)

QUEBEC — Calgary Dinos quarterback Andrew Buckley ended his university football career in style, taking a second straight Hec Crighton Trophy as the outstanding player in Canadian Interuniversity Sport football on Thursday night.

Buckley set a CIS record with 3,162 passing yards in conference play, with 19 touchdowns and only one interception. He also rushed for 256 yards and three touchdowns while leading the Dinos to an 8-0 season.

The fifth-year kinesiology student led a Calgary squad that set records in points (471), touchdowns (53), total yards (5,606) and field goals (26).

Last season, he became the first player to win both the Hec Crighton and the Russ Jackson Trophy as top scholastic player, but his two-year run as Jackson winner was ended by Queen’s wide receiver Curtis Carmichael.

Other major awards saw Guelph linebacker John Rush take the Presidents Trophy as defensive player of the year; Manitoba defensive tackle David Onyemata win the J.P. Metras Trophy as outstanding down lineman; and Laval defensive end Mathieu Betts take the Peter Gorman Trophy as top rookie.

Calgary’s Wayne Harris Jr. got the Frank Tindall Trophy as coach of the year.

Former Dinos to have won the Hec Crighton include Erik Glavic (2009), Don Blair (1995) and Greg Vavra (1983).

Buckley, a Calgary Stampeders draft pick, joined Saint Mary’s quarterback Chris Flynn (1988, 1989, 1990), Western fullback Tim Tindale (1991, 1993), Mount Allison running back Eric Lapointe (1996, 1998), Queen’s quarterback Tommy Denison (2002, 2003), and Glavic, who claimed the honour with Saint Mary’s (2007) and Calgary (2009), as a multiple Hec Crighton winner.

Other nominees were St.FX running back Ashton Dickson, Condordia quarterback Trenton Miller and Western pivot Will Finch.

Buckley was also named a first-team all-Canadian along with running backs Mercer Timmis of Calgary and Dillon Campbell of Wilfrid Laurier, receivers Mitch Hillis of Saskatchewan, Ian Stewart of Ottawa, Rashaun Simonise of Calgary and Danny Vandervoort of McMaster and linemen Sean McEwen and Braden Schram of Calgary, Jason Lauzon-Seguin and Charles Vaillancourt, both of Laval, and Sean Jamieson of Western.

Buckley, Campbell, McEwen and Jamieson are repeat all-Canadians while Timmis and Vaillancourt are on for a third straight year.

On defence are linemen Betts, Onyemata, Samuel Narkaj of Concordia and Jesse St. James of Acadia, linebackers Rush, Drew Morris of Acadia and Doctor Cassama of Calgary, safety Jesse McNair of Western, defensive backs Robert Woodson of Calgary and Maiko Zepeda of Montreal, as well as corners Adam Laurensse of Calgary and Godrey Onyeka of Laurier.

St. James and Laurensse are the only returnees from 2014.

Special teams all-Canadians are UBC punter Quinn van Gylswyk, Calgary placekicker Johnny Mark and Carleton kick returner Tunde Adeleke.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.