Toronto to host Premier Hockey Federation All-Star Showcase

The Toronto Six will host the annual Premier Hockey Federation All-Star Showcase on Jan. 29, the league announced on Thursday.

The first All-Star event outside of the United States will feature a revised format, where the players will compete on three teams in a round-robin. Each of the three games will be 10 minutes of 5-on-5, followed by five minutes of 3-on-3 and then a shootout. All goals will count toward the final score. The team with the best record, or best goal differential in the case of a tie, will be declared the winner.

The All-Star teams will be chosen over three stages: players will vote to determine the three captains, coaches will choose the 30 players and fans will choose the three final skaters and one extra goaltender to complete the pool. The three captains will then draft their roster of 12 players for the competition from the pool.

The All-Star event had previously been held by the PHF, then known as National Women’s Hockey League, in Buffalo (2016), Pittsburgh (2017), Minnesota (2018), Nashville (2019) and Boston (2020). Current teams in the league, in addition to Toronto, are the Boston Pride, Buffalo Beauts, Connecticut Whale, Metropolitan Riveters and the Minnesota Whitecaps.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.