Quarterfinals set at world juniors: Canada to face Slovakia

Sweden’s Liam Ohgren, left, protects the puck from Czechia’s Jaroslav Chmelar during second period IIHF World Junior Hockey Championship action in Halifax, Thursday, Dec. 29, 2022. (Darren Calabrese/CP) 

After the conclusion of preliminary-round play on Saturday, the quarterfinals are locked in for Monday at the world junior hockey championship.

Latvia and Austria, last-place finishers in their respective groups, are the only teams eliminated.

Here is Monday’s quarterfinal schedule.

B2 Finland vs. A3 Sweden, 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT in Moncton, N.B.
A1 Czech Republic vs. B4 Switzerland, 1:30 p.m. ET / 10:30 a.m. PT in Halifax
B1 United States vs. A4 Germany, 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT in Moncton
A2 Canada vs. B3 Slovakia, 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT in Halifax

The semifinals are Wednesday with the final set for Thursday.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.