Former Raptor Chris Bosh among star-studded 2020 Hall of Fame nominees


Toronto Raptors forward Chris Bosh(Frank Gunn/AP/CP)

Former Toronto Raptors Chris Bosh and Shawn Marion are part of a star-studded list of nominees for the Basketball Hall of Fame’s 2020 induction class.

Other players in their first year of eligibility includes NBA legends Kobe Bryant, Tim Duncan and Kevin Garnett.

Bosh was drafted fourth overall by the Raptors in the 2003 NBA Draft and played his first seven seasons in Toronto. He was a megastar during his tenure, setting franchise records in points, minutes and rebounds – the last of which he still holds – was a five-time all-star and led the team to their first division title in 2007. He also ranks fourth in games played in franchise history with 509.

Bosh left Toronto in July 2010 to join LeBron James and Dwyane Wade with the Miami Heat, where he became a two-time NBA champion. Bosh spent six seasons in Miami before his NBA career was cut short due to recurring blood clot issues.

Marion was acquired by the Raptors midway through the 2008-09 season, averaging 14 points per game in 27 games that campaign. Marion’s best years came in Phoenix with the Suns alongside Canadian Steve Nash, where Marion played nine seasons while averaging more than 18 points per game and 10 rebounds per contest. Marion was a four-time all-star during his time in Phoenix, and boasts an NBA career which spanned 16 seasons with five different teams.

Two former Toronto Raptors have already been inducted into the Hall of Fame: Tracy McGrady and Hakeem Olajuwon.

The star of the 2020 group is Kobe Bryant, widely considered to be one of the greatest basketball players of all-time, who won five titles during his 20-year career with the Los Angeles Lakers. He is the third-highest scoring player in NBA history.

Another all-time great, Tim Duncan, won five championships in a 19-year career spent entirely with the San Antonio Spurs.

Garnett was a 15-time NBA all-star with the Minnesota Timberwolves and Boston Celtics, winning the NBA Finals in 2008 with the Celtics.

Other first-time nominees include Michael Finley, Mark Eaton and Buck Williams. Players who are eligible again include Chauncey Billups, Mark Jackson, Tim Hardaway, Richard Hamilton, Chris Webber, Ben Wallace and Marcus Camby.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.