Former CFL stars Ray, Cox to enter Hall of Fame in first year of eligibility

Toronto Argonauts quarterback Ricky Ray (15) prepares to make a throw against the Calgary Stampeders. (Cole Burston/CP)

TORONTO — Former CFL stars Ricky Ray and Chip Cox were named Tuesday for induction into the Canadian Football Hall of Fame in their first years of eligibility.

Ray won a record four Grey Cups as a CFL starting quarterback with both Edmonton and Toronto while Cox claimed two league titles as a defensive back/linebacker with the Montreal Alouettes, the team he spent his entire 13-year pro career with.

Also named in the player category were kicker Paul McCallum, fullback Tim Tindale, and Dick Thornton who played on both sides of the ball.

Former CFL head coach Dave Ritchie, longtime team executive Roy Shivers and Keith Evans, the Calgary Colts founder and former GM, were selected as builders.

The 2022 class will be inducted Sept. 16 at Tim Hortons Field in Hamilton.

The newest members will also be honoured the following day at halftime of the Hamilton Tiger-Cats/Winnipeg Blue Bombers game.

When submitting content, please abide by our  submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.
We use cookies to improve your experience. Learn More or change your cookie preferences. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies.