Grand Slam of Curling announces expanded 32-team field for Masters

Briane Meilleur (left) and Shannon Birchard (right) of Team Einarson sweep a stone during the 2019 Masters in North Bay, Ont. (Anil Mungal)

The Pinty's Grand Slam of Curling announced Friday the teams for its season-opening event, the Masters, running Oct. 19-24 in Oakville, Ont.

New for 2021 is an expanded field with 16 of the top men's teams and 16 of the top women's teams from around the globe, up from 15 teams per division during previous seasons.

The GSOC has also changed the event's preliminary round from pool play to triple knockout — a bracket format where teams must win three games before they lose three in order to qualify for the playoffs. Eight teams in both men's and women's divisions will advance to the quarterfinals. Triple knockout matches will be revealed at a later date.

Team Dunstone and Team Fleury are the defending champions after winning the 2019 Masters titles in North Bay, Ont. The Masters was not held last season due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Two GSOC tournaments were held during the Calgary hub city bubble in April with Team Homan capturing the Humpty’s Champions Cup women’s title and Team Einarson winning the Princess Auto Players’ Championship women’s title while Team Mouat swept the men’s championships in both events.

Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW will provide live broadcast coverage of the Masters. Broadcast schedule to be announced.

Below is the list of teams set to compete in the 2021 Masters.

Men's Division

  • Team Brendan Bottcher (Edmonton)
  • Team Peter de Cruz (Geneva, Switzerland)
  • Team Matt Dunstone (Regina)
  • Team Niklas Edin (Karlstad, Sweden)
  • Team John Epping (Toronto)
  • Team Jason Gunnlaugson (Winnipeg)
  • Team Brad Gushue (St. John's, N.L.)
  • Team Brad Jacobs (Sault Ste. Marie, Ont.)
  • Team Kevin Koe (Calgary)
  • Team Yuta Matsumura (Kitami, Japan)
  • Team Mike McEwen (Winnipeg)
  • Team Bruce Mouat (Stirling, Scotland)
  • Team Ross Paterson (Glasgow, Scotland)
  • Team Rich Ruohonen (Minneapolis, USA)
  • Team Yannick Schwaller (Bern, Switzerland)
  • Team Ross Whyte (Stirling, Scotland)
  • Women's Division

  • Team Kerri Einarson (Gimli, Man.)
  • Team Tracy Fleury (East St. Paul, Man.)
  • Team Satsuki Fujisawa (Kitami, Japan)
  • Team Un-Chi Gim (Uijeongbu, South Korea)
  • Team Anna Hasselborg (Sundbyberg, Sweden)
  • Team Rachel Homan (Ottawa)
  • Team Jennifer Jones (Winnipeg)
  • Team Eun-Jung Kim (Gangneung, South Korea)
  • Team Min-Ji Kim (Chuncheon, South Korea)
  • Team Tori Koana (Fujiyosida, Japan)
  • Team Alina Kovaleva (Saint Petersburg, Russia)
  • Team Tabitha Peterson (St. Paul, USA)
  • Team Kelsey Rocque (Edmonton)
  • Team Silvana Tirinzoni (Aarau, Switzerland)
  • Team Isabella Wrana (Sundbyberg, Sweden)
  • Team Sayaka Yoshimura (Sapporo, Japan)
  • When submitting content, please abide by our  submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.
    We use cookies to improve your experience. Learn More or change your cookie preferences. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies.