Wright, Byfield headline Canada’s virtual world junior summer camp

Shane Wright of the Kingston Frontenacs. (Terry Wilson / OHL Images)

Hockey Canada has announced the 41-man roster for this summer’s virtual National Junior Team Summer Development Camp that will run from July 27-31.

Headlining the group is 16-year-old Kingston Frontenacs forward Shane Wright and Sudbury Wolves star Quinton Byfield, the projected second-overall pick in the 2020 NHL Draft. Alexis Lafreniere, the projected top pick in the NHL draft, was invited but is not required to participate.

“We are excited to begin preparations for the 2021 IIHF World Junior Championship with this group of 41 players and our full staff at our online camp, as we believe we have a good mix of veteran leadership and young talent that are eager to represent Canada during the holiday season,” said Scott Salmond, senior vice-president of national teams for Hockey Canada, in a statement.

The roster features five goaltenders, 10 defencemen and 26 forwards, including seven players who won gold with Canada at the 2020 World Junior Championships. The camp will feature “a variety of sessions with a focus on player development through online education,” Hockey Canada’s statement says.

The 2021 World Junior Hockey Championships are currently scheduled for Dec. 26 to Jan. 5 in Edmonton and Red Deer, Alta.

Below is Canada’s full roster. The players in italics are returning from last year’s team.


Brett Brochu, London Knights (OHL)
Sebastian Cossa, Edmonton Oil Kings (WHL)
Dylan Garand, Kamloops Blazers (WHL)
Taylor Gauthier, Prince George Cougars (WHL)
Tristan Lennox, Saginaw Spirit (OHL)


Justin Barron, Halifax Mooseheads (QMJHL)
Bowen Byram, Vancouver Giants (WHL)
Jamie Drysdale, Erie Otters (OHL)

Kaiden Guhle, Prince Albert Raiders (WHL)
Thomas Harley, Mississauga Steelheads (OHL)
Kaedan Korczak, Kelowna Rockets (WHL)
Ryan O’Rourke, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds (OHL)
Matthew Robertson, Edmonton Oil Kings (WHL)
Braden Schneider, Brandon Wheat Kings (WHL)
Jordan Spence, Moncton Wildcats (QMJHL)


Adam Beckman, Spokane Chiefs (WHL)
Mavrik Bourque, Shawinigan Cataractes (QMJHL)
Quinton Bourque, Sudbury Wolves (OHL)
Graeme Clarke, Ottawa 67’s (OHL)
Dylan Cozens, Lethbridge Hurricanes (WHL)
Jack Finley, Spokane Chiefs (WHL)
Tyson Foerster, Barrie Colts (OHL)
Ridly Greig, Brandon Wheat Kings (WHL)
Dylan Holloway, Wisconsin (Big Ten)
Seth Jarvis, Portland Winterhawks (WHL)
Peyton Krebs, Winnipeg Ice (WHL)
Hendrix Lapierre, Chicoutimi Saguenéens (QMJHL)
Connor McMichael, London Knights (OHL)
Dawson Mercer, Chicoutimi Saguenéens (QMJHL)

Alex Newhook, Boston College (Hockey East)
Jakob Pelletier, Moncton Wildcats
Samuel Poulin, Sherbrooke Phoenix (QMJHL)
Jack Quinn, Ottawa 67’s (OHL)
Jamieson Rees, Sarnia Sting (OHL)
Ryan Suzuki, Saginaw Spirit (OHL)
Philip Tomasino, Oshawa Generals (OHL)
Shane Wright, Kingston Frontenacs (OHL)
Connor Zary, Kamloops Blazers (WHL)

Invited but not required to attend

Alexis Lafrenière, Rimouski Océanic (QMJHL)


When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.