Canucks’ Elias Pettersson wins Calder Trophy as rookie of the year

Vancouver Canucks rookie Elias Pettersson took home the Calder Trophy, beating out Jordan Binnington and Rasmus Dahlin.

Vancouver Canucks centre Elias Pettersson has won the Calder Trophy as the NHL’s rookie of the year.

Pettersson, 20, beat Blues goalie Jordan Binnington and Sabres defenceman Rasmus Dahlin to win the award.

The fifth-overall pick in 2017, Pettersson paced both his team and all NHL rookies with 28 goals, 38 assists and 66 total points in his first campaign with the Canucks. Those 66 points also ranked as the most ever posted by a Canucks rookie, surpassing Pavel Bure’s 60-point high-water mark from 1992.

For a full list of award winners, click here.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.