Crosby, McDavid, Kucherov voted finalists for Hart Trophy

Watch as Nikita Kucherov splits through the Bruins defenders and beautifully slides it past Tuukka Rask for an amazing goal.

The NHL has announced the three finalists for the 2019 Hart Memorial Trophy, awarded to the league’s most valuable player as judged by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Pittsburgh Penguins centre Sidney Crosby, Edmonton Oilers centre Connor McDavid, and Tampa Bay Lightning winger Nikita Kucherov were named the three finalists on Sunday.

Crosby reached the 100-point plateau for the sixth time in his career, posting 100 exactly on the season, through 79 games. With the sixth century-mark in tow, the three-time Stanley Cup champion sits behind only Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux, Marcel Dionne, Mike Bossy and Peter Stastny for most 100-point campaigns in league history.

McDavid posted 116 points through 78 games in his fourth NHL campaign, hitting the century mark for the third straight year. The 22-year-old played a bigger role in his club’s offensive success than any other NHLer, factoring in on 50.7 per cent of Edmonton’s 229 goals in 2018-19. He also became just the eighth player in league history to put together a full season of never going consecutive games without a point.

Kucherov, the 2019 Art Ross Trophy winner, put up a dominant 128 points through 82 games this season, the most any NHLer has scored since 1996. His 87 assists this year were also the most any player has put up since 2007. The dynamic winger collected at least one point in 75.6 per cent of his club’s games this year, helping the Lightning capture the 2019 Presidents’ Trophy.

The Hart Trophy winner will be announced on June 19 at the NHL Awards in Las Vegas.


When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.