McDavid, Ovechkin named captains for 2020 NHL All-Star Game

David Pastrnak, Alex Ovechkin, Nathan MacKinnon, and Connor McDavid were announced as the captains of the NHL All-Star Game.

Connor McDavid, Nathan MacKinnon, Alex Ovechkin, and David Pastrnak have been named captains for the 2020 NHL All-Star Game.

The four players were chosen by a recent fan vote.

McDavid, representing the Pacific Division and the Edmonton Oilers, leads all NHL scorers with 59 points including a league-high 39 assists. He will captain his fourth straight all-star game.

MacKinnon will lead the Central Division and has been on a tear with 53 points (21 goals, 32 assists) with the Colorado Avalanche this year. This will be his fourth-consecutive all-star game.

Ovechkin was named Metropolitan Division captain and will make his 11th all-star appearance. He has 22 goals and 13 assists in 36 games with the Washington Capitals this year.

Pastrnak, the Atlantic Division captain, has racked up an NHL-best 28 goals and 50 points so far this season as a member of the Boston Bruins. This will be his second all-star appearance.

The 2020 NHL All-Star Weekend will be hosted by the Stanley Cup champion St. Louis Blues on Jan. 24 and 25.


When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.