The Anaheim Ducks may have been ripped off Friday night.
In the second period of Anaheim’s game against the Minnesota Wild, defenseman Nate Prosser appeared to cover the puck in the crease. Ryan Kesler’s shot was stopped by Darcy Kuemper, but the puck popped up into the air and landed behind the goalie. And as it was trickling into the net, Prosser fell to his knees, blocked the puck’s path and shuffled it out of harm’s way with his hand.
“After video review the puck did no cross the goal line, no goal.”
There is no denying the puck did not cross the goal line – but should this has been a penalty shot?
Here’s what Rule 63.5 says in the NHL rulebook:
No defending player, except the goalkeeper, will be permitted to fall on the puck, hold the puck, pick up the puck, or gather the puck into the body or hands when the puck is within the goal crease. For infringement of this rule, play shall immediately be stopped and a penalty shot shall be ordered against the offending team, but no other penalty shall be given.
The significant factor when determining whether or not a penalty shot is warranted is the location of the puck at the time it was held, grabbed or gathered into the body. If the puck is in the crease, penalty shot. If the puck is outside the crease and gathered into the body of a player (other than the goalkeeper) who is inside the crease, minor penalty).
So, the question is: did Prosser “hold the puck” or gather the puck into his hands?
Prosser did not fall onto the puck, but it sure looks like his hand covered it. He didn’t just bat it out of the crease – he covered it to move it out.