Team USA names 17 players to IIHF World Hockey Championship roster


Team USA's Patrick Kane at the World Cup of Hockey in Toronto on Saturday, September 17, 2016. (Nathan Denette/CP)

Team USA announced the first 17 players who will represent the country at the upcoming IIHF World Hockey Championship on Thursday.

Jack Eichel, Patrick Kane, Dylan Larkin and Alex DeBrincat highlight the NHL stars named to the team, while up-and-coming talents like Quinn Hughes and Thatcher Demko will get another opportunity to prove themselves on a national stage.

Here’s a list of all 17 players named to the roster so far:

• Jack Eichel, forward
• Patrick Kane, forward
• Dylan Larkin, forward
• James van Riemsdyk, forward
• Clayton Keller, forward
• Alex DeBrincat, forward
• Chris Kreider, forward
• Frank Vatrano, forward
• Luke Glendening, forward
• Colin White, forward
• Quinn Hughes, defenceman
• Alec Martinez, defenceman
• Ryan Suter, defenceman
• Brady Skjei, defenceman
• Cory Schneider, goaltender
• Thatcher Demko, goaltender
• Cayden Primeau, goaltender

The roster features 11 first-round NHL draft picks and 12 players who have previous experience with USA Hockey’s National Team Development Program.

“We’re excited about our team and it’s fun to hear the passion our players have when I’ve talked to them about representing our country,” Chris Drury, general manager of the 2019 U.S. Men’s National Team, said on Team USA’s website. “We have one objective and that is to come home with the gold medal.”

The IIHF World Hockey Championship will be held in Kosice and Bratislava, Slovakia, and takes place from May 10 to May 26.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.