Cole Caufield, Shane Pinto, Dryden McKay named Hobey Baker finalists

Wisconsin's Cole Caufield pushes around Penn State's Paul DeNaples with the puck during a college hockey game Thursday, Oct. 31, 2019, in State College, Pa. (Abby Drey/Centre Daily Times via AP)

Wisconsin forward Cole Caufield, Minnesota State goaltender Dryden McKay and North Dakota forward Shane Pinto have been named finalists for the Hobey Baker Award, which honours college hockey's top player.

Caufield, a Montreal Canadiens prospect, led the college ranks with 52 points in 31 games. He became the first player in the eight-year history of the Big Ten conference to win back-to-back scoring titles.

He also won a gold medal for Team USA at the 2021 World Junior Championship.

McKay is a finalist for the second straight year and once again led all college netminders with 10 shutouts. He has a 21-3-0 record with a 1.39 goals-against average and .931 save percentage.

Pinto, who signed his entry-level contract with the Ottawa Senators on Thursday, led the Fighting Hawks with 15 goals over 28 games. He finished the season tied for ninth in the nation in scoring and tied for seventh in goals.

The Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced on April 9.

When submitting content, please abide by our  submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.
We use cookies to improve your experience. Learn More or change your cookie preferences. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies.