Late in the second period of Thursday's game between the Maple Leafs and Flames, Calgary forward Andrew Mangiapane scored a goal with what appeared to be a distinct kicking motion.
However, after a video review, officials on the ice counted the goal due to the fact that the puck hit Maple Leafs defenceman Timothy Liljegren's stick before crossing the line.
While Rule 49.2 states that "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who kicks a puck that deflects into the net off any player, goalkeeper or official" there are some exceptions, one of which applies in this case.
That exception is 49.2 (ii), which reads: "A kicked puck that deflects off the stick of any player (excluding the goalkeeper’s stick) shall be ruled a good goal."
Therefore, because the puck hit Liljegren's stick first, the goal counted and the Flames were able to cut the Maple Leafs lead down to 4-3.






