Grand Slam of Curling confirms 32 teams for Boost National

Kelsey Rocque shoots a stone during the 2019 BOOST National in Conception Bay South, N.L. (Anil Mungal)

The field has been finalized for the Boost National taking place Nov. 2-7 at Chestermere Recreation Centre in Chestermere, Alta.

The Pinty's Grand Slam of Curling announced Thursday the 16 men's teams and 16 women's teams set to compete in its second event of the season.

New for this year's Boost National is the event will be a triple knockout preliminary round — a bracket format where teams must win three games before they lose three — to determine the eight teams advancing to the quarterfinals in both divisions.

Triple knockout matches will be released at a later date.

Team Jacobs and Team Hasselborg are the defending champions after winning the 2019 Boost National titles in Conception Bay South, N.L.

The Boost National was not held last season due to the COVID-19 pandemic with the Pinty's Grand Slam of Curling opting instead to hold two events in a hub-city concept in Calgary in April. Team Homan captured the Champions Cup women’s title and Team Einarson won the Princess Auto Players’ Championship women’s title while Team Mouat swept the men’s championships in both events.

Tune to Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW for live broadcast coverage of the Boost National. Broadcast schedule to be announced.

The Boost National follows the Masters, which will kick off the Pinty's Grand Slam of Curling season Oct. 19-24 in Oakville, Ont.

Below is the list of teams set to compete in the Boost National.

Men's Division

  • Team Brendan Bottcher (Edmonton)
  • Team Braden Calvert (Winnipeg)
  • Team Peter de Cruz (Geneva, Switzerland)
  • Team Matt Dunstone (Regina)
  • Team Niklas Edin (Karlstad, Sweden)
  • Team John Epping (Toronto)
  • Team Jason Gunnlaugson (Winnipeg)
  • Team Brad Gushue (St. John's, N.L.)
  • Team Glenn Howard (Penetanguishene, Ont.)
  • Team Brad Jacobs (Sault Ste. Marie, Ont.)
  • Team Kevin Koe (Calgary)
  • Team Mike McEwen (Winnipeg)
  • Team Bruce Mouat (Stirling, Scotland)
  • Team Ross Paterson (Glasgow, Scotland)
  • Team Yannick Schwaller (Bern, Switzerland)
  • Team Ross Whyte (Stirling, Scotland)

Women's Division

  • Team Corryn Brown (Kamloops, B.C.)
  • Team Hollie Duncan (Woodstock, Ont.)
  • Team Kerri Einarson (Gimli, Man.)
  • Team Tracy Fleury (East St. Paul, Man.)
  • Team Satsuki Fujisawa (Kitami, Japan)
  • Team Un-Chi Gim (Uijeongbu, South Korea)
  • Team Anna Hasselborg (Sundbyberg, Sweden)
  • Team Rachel Homan (Ottawa)
  • Team Jennifer Jones (Winnipeg)
  • Team Min-Ji Kim (Chuncheon, South Korea)
  • Team Alina Kovaleva (Saint Petersburg, Russia)
  • Team Kelsey Rocque (Edmonton)
  • Team Irene Schori (Langenthal, Switzerland)
  • Team Silvana Tirinzoni (Aarau, Switzerland)
  • Team Laura Walker (Edmonton)
  • Team Isabella Wrana (Sundbyberg, Sweden)

When submitting content, please abide by our  submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.
We use cookies to improve your experience. Learn More or change your cookie preferences. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies.