GSOC announces teams for 2020 Meridian Canadian Open

Brad Jacobs and his team were near flawless in beating Team Edin 3-1 to claim the Grand Slam of Curling’s Boost National title, their 2nd straight on the circuit.

The field has been finalized for the 2020 Meridian Canadian Open, returning Jan. 14-19 to the Gallagher Centre in Yorkton, Sask.

The Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling announced Tuesday the full lineup of 16 men’s teams and 16 women’s teams for its fourth event and third major of the 2019-20 season.

Teams were invited based on both the WCF World Team Ranking total and year-to-date lists. One spot in each division was reserved for the KIOTI Tractor Tour Challenge Tier 2 winners. Team Korey Dropkin and Team Min-ji Kim won the titles in Pictou County, N.S., in November receiving promotions into the top tier with airfare and accommodations provided for the four players on each team.

A $300,000 combined purse, split equally between the men’s and women’s divisions, is on the line. Winners cash in $35,000 plus berth towards the season-ending Humpty’s Champions Cup in Olds, Alta. Points are also up for grabs towards the Pinty’s Cup, which is the season championship in the series and awarded following the conclusion of the Players’ Championship.

The Meridian Canadian Open features a triple knockout preliminary round where teams must win three games before they lose three games in order to qualify for the playoffs. Eight men’s teams and eight women’s teams will advance to the quarterfinals. The opening round of matches will be set in the near future.

Yorkton hosted the event in 2014 and 2015. Team Brendan Bottcher and Team Rachel Homan are the defending champions picking up the titles last season in North Battleford, Sask.

Broadcast coverage of the 2020 Meridian Canadian Open begins Thursday, Jan. 16 at 1 p.m. ET on Sportsnet and streaming online at Sportsnet NOW (Canada) or Yare (international).

The series just wrapped up its third event of the season, the Boost National, in Conception Bay South, N.L. Team Brad Jacobs beat Team Niklas Edin 3-1 in the men’s final and Team Hasselborg downed Team Jennifer Jones 7-3 for the women’s title Sunday. It was the second consecutive GSOC titles this season for Jacobs and Hasselborg, who also captured the KIOTI Tractor Tour Challenge Tier 1 titles last month.

Meridian Canadian Open men’s teams

Team Brendan BottcherEdmonton, AB
Team Peter de CruzGeneva, SUI
Team Korey DropkinChaska, USA
Team Matt DunstoneRegina, SK
Team Niklas EdinKarlstad, SWE
Team John EppingToronto, ON
Team Jason GunnlaugsonWinnipeg, MB
Team Brad GushueSt. John’s, NL
Team Glenn HowardPenetanguishene, ON
Team Brad JacobsSault Ste. Marie, ON
Team Kevin KoeCalgary, AB
Team Mike McEwenWinnipeg, MB
Team Bruce MouatEdinburgh, SCO
Team Kirk MuyresSaskatoon, SK
Team Ross PatersonGlasgow, SCO
Team Yannick SchwallerBern, SUI

Meridian Canadian Open women’s teams

Team Chelsea CareyCalgary, AB
Team Kerri EinarsonGimli, MB
Team Tracy FleuryEast St. Paul, MB
Team Satsuki FujisawaKitami, JPN
Team Anna HasselborgSundbyberg, SWE
Team Rachel HomanOttawa, ON
Team Jennifer JonesWinnipeg, MB
Team Min-ji KimChuncheon, KOR
Team Alina KovalevaSaint Petersburg, RUS
Team Eve MuirheadStirling, SCO
Team Kelsey RocqueEdmonton, AB
Team Nina RothMcFarland, USA
Team Elena SternOberwallis, SUI
Team Silvana TirinzoniAarau, SUI
Team Laura WalkerEdmonton, ON
Team Sayaka YoshimuraSapporo, JPN

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.