Gushue to open home-province GSOC National vs. McDonald

Team Brad Jacobs hit a couple very key shots along the way to knock off Team Gushue, and successfully defend his Grand Slam of Curling Tour Challenge title.

Local favourites Team Brad Gushue will kick off their quest for the BOOST National men’s title by taking on Team Scott McDonald in the first round-robin draw.

The BOOST National is the third event and second major of the 2019-20 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling campaign — featuring 15 of the top men’s teams and 15 of the top women’s teams from around the world — and runs Dec. 10-15 at CBS Arena in Conception Bay South, N.L.

Team Gushue, from St. John’s, have finished runners-up at the first couple Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling events this season, could the third time be the charm?

Gushue has won 11 titles in the series including two at the BOOST National.

Pinty’s Cup men’s champions Team Kevin Koe and Masters men’s winners Team Matt Dunstone also clash in the opening night’s draw.

Team Jennifer Jones face Team Satsuki Fujisawa, Team Silvana Tirinzoni take on Team Isabella Wrana and Team Kerri Einarson play Team Casey Scheidegger in women’s action during Draw 1.

Scheidegger (maternity leave) is out of the lineup and lead Kristie Moore will move up to skip the squad.

A combined prize purse of $300,000 is on the line with the winners earning $35,000 plus berths to the season-ending Humpty’s Champions Cup in Olds, Alta. Points are also up for grabs towards the Pinty’s Cup, which is awarded to the season champions in the series following the conclusion of the Players’ Championship in April.

Broadcast coverage begins Dec. 12 at 11 a.m. ET on Sportsnet and streaming online via Sportsnet NOW (Canada) and Yare (international).

BOOST National Draw Schedule

Time (NT) Draw A B C D E
Tuesday, Dec. 10
7 p.m. 1 Gushue vs. McDonald Koe vs. Dunstone Einarson vs. Scheidegger Jones vs. Fujisawa Tirinzoni vs. Wrana
Wednesday, Dec. 11
9 a.m. 2 Silvernagle vs. Stern Mouat vs. McEwen Schwaller vs. Matsumura Hasselborg vs. Yoshimura Epping vs. De Cruz
12:30 p.m. 3 Tirinzoni vs. Rocque Jacobs vs. Bottcher Paterson vs. McDonald Fleury vs. Carey Muirhead vs. Fujisawa
4:30 p.m. 4 Edin vs. Schwaller Yoshimura vs. Silvernagle De Cruz vs. Howard Homan vs. Stern Einarson vs. Jones
8:30 p.m. 5 Koe vs. Paterson Muirhead vs. Scheidegger Fleury vs. Wrana Gushue vs. Dunstone
Thursday, Dec. 12
9 a.m. 6 Epping vs. Mouat Edin vs. Matsumura Howard vs. McEwen Jacobs vs. Schwaller Hasselborg vs. Stern
12:30 p.m. 7 Fujisawa vs. Scheidegger Rocque vs. Wrana Tirinzoni vs. Carey Koe vs. McDonald Homan vs. Yoshimura
4:30 p.m. 8 Bottcher vs. Matsumura Epping vs. Howard Jacobs vs. Edin Hasselborg vs. Silvernagle Gushue vs. Paterson
8:30 p.m. 9 De Cruz vs. McEwen Dunstone vs. McDonald Jones vs. Muirhead Einarson vs. Fujisawa Fleury vs. Rocque
Friday, Dec. 13
9 a.m. 10 Homan vs. Silvernagle Mouat vs. Howard Carey vs. Wrana  
12:30 p.m. 11 Dunstone vs. Paterson Einarson vs. Muirhead Epping vs. McEwen Tirinzoni vs. Fleury Bottcher vs. Schwaller
4:30 p.m. 12 Carey vs. Rocque Mouat vs. De Cruz Hasselborg vs. Homan Jones vs. Scheidegger Yoshimura vs. Stern
8:30 p.m. 13 Tiebreaker (if nec.) Jacobs vs. Matsumura Koe vs. Gushue Bottcher vs. Edin Tiebreaker (if nec.)
Saturday, Dec. 14
9:30 a.m. 14 Tiebreakers (if necessary)
1:30 p.m. 15 Women’s Quartefinals
5 p.m. 16 Men’s Quarterfinals
8:30 p.m. 17 Men’s & Women’s Semifinals
Sunday, Dec. 15
1:30 p.m. 18   Men’s Final    
5:30 p.m. 19   Women’s Final  

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.