Kevin Koe punches ticket back to the Brier

Watch as Kevin Koe makes a triple takeout in the third end to score three.

Kevin Koe has won his third consecutive Alberta Boston Pizza Cup title defeating Charley Thomas 8-4 during Sunday’s final in Camrose.

It’s the second straight provincial title Koe has won with third Marc Kennedy, second Brent Laing and lead Ben Hebert as they will represent Alberta again at the Tim Hortons Brier.

The Calgary based crew have quite the resume at the event with Koe capturing the Brier in 2010 and 2014, Kennedy and Hebert winning back-to-back national titles in 2008 and 2009 with Kevin Martin, and Laing earning the Canadian championship in 2007 and 2012 with Glenn Howard.

Thomas, also from Calgary, beat Koe in the A vs. B page playoff to open the final with the hammer but gave up a steal of one in the first on a close measurement.

After Thomas bounced back with a deuce in the second, Koe made a triple takeout to score three in the third to reclaim the lead 4-2.

Thomas blanked the fourth and was forced to a point in the fifth. The teams split singles in six and seven as Koe maintained the two-point advantage 6-4.

Looking to make a quad takeout in nine, Thomas could only get two counters going, giving up a steal of two, and shook hands.

Koe defeated Edmonton’s Brendan Bottcher 7-4 Sunday in the semifinal to set up the rematch with Thomas.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.