Canadian Rebecca Johnston headlines first round of CWHL All-Stars

Canada forward Rebecca Johnston, left, and forward Kristin O'Neill celebrate goal against Finland during first period of 2018 Four Nations Cup preliminary game in Saskatoon, Friday, Nov. 9, 2018. (Liam Richards/CP)

The first round of Canadian Women’s Hockey League (CWHL) all-star selections has been announced.

Among the 11 players selected in this group, eight have represented their country at the Olympics and other international events.

The first 11 players to be selected are:

Rebecca Johnston – Calgary Inferno
Hilary Knight – Les Canadiennes de Montreal
Jocelyne Larocque – Markham Thunder
Rachel Llanes – Shenzhen KRS Vanke Rays
Marie-Philip Poulin – Les Canadiennes de Montreal
Alex Rigsby ­– Calgary Inferno
Laura Stacey – Markham Thunder
Natalie Spooner – Toronto Furies
Blayre Turnbull – Calgary Inferno
Lauren Williams – Worcester Blades
Jessica Wong – Shenzhen KRS Vanke Rays

The next wave of players who are participating will be announced by the CWHL on Dec. 5, 2018.

This year’s CWHL All-Star game takes place Jan. 20 at Scotiabank Arena.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.