Cozens, Dach headline selections for CHL Top Prospects Game

Ryan Suzuki (16) and Kirby Dach (17). (Codie McLachlan/CP)

The Canadian Hockey League has released the list of the 40 players selected for the 2019 Sherwin-Williams CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game.

The 24th annual showcase — which has featured notable names like Connor McDavid, Nico Hischier, Nathan MacKinnon, and John Tavares in recent years — is set to take place on Jan. 23, 2019 at the ENMAX Centrium, home of the Western Hockey League’s Red Deer Rebels.

“The Sherwin-Williams CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game provides scouts and general managers the unique opportunity to evaluate talent competing in a best-on-best showcase,” said Dan Marr, NHL Central Scouting Director, in a press release. “All 31 NHL clubs contributed to the roster selection and have a great interest in this priority scouting event to see which players can elevate their game under the spotlight.”

This year’s crop of players will be headlined by more than 11 potential CHL first-round picks.

Thirty-three of the 60 CHL member clubs will be represented in the showcase. The Kelowna Rockets lead the way with three of their players being selected, followed by the London Knights, Medicine Hat Tigers, Ottawa 67’s, Peterborough Petes, and Seattle Thunderbirds who each had two selections a piece.

NHL Central Scouting will divide the group of 40 players into two teams, Team Cherry and Team Orr, and coaching staffs for each group will be announced at a later date.

2019 Sherwin-Williams CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game Roster:


Colten Ellis (Rimouski Océanic)

Taylor Gauthier (Prince George Cougars)

Hunter Jones (Peterborough Petes)

Mads Sogaard (Medicine Hat Tigers)


Samuel Bolduc (Blainville-Boisbriand Armada)

Bowen Byram (Vancouver Giants)

Billy Constantinou (Kingston Frontenacs)

Thomas Harley (Mississauga Steelheads)

Artemi Kniazev (Chicoutimi Saguenéens)

Vladislav Kolyachonok (Flint Firebirds)

Kaedan Korczak (Kelowna Rockets)

Jake Lee (Seattle Thunderbirds)

Nikita Okhotyuk (Ottawa 67’s)

Matthew Robertson (Edmonton Oil Kings)

Lassi Thomson (Kelowna Rockets)

Michael Vukojevic (Kitchener Rangers)


Nikita Alexandrov (Charlottetown Islanders)

Maxim Cajkovic (Saint John Sea Dogs)

Joe Carroll (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)

Graeme Clarke (Ottawa 67’s)

Dylan Cozens (Lethbridge Hurricanes)

Kirby Dach (Saskatoon Blades)

Nolan Foote (Kelowna Rockets)

Matvey Guskov (London Knights)

Dillon Hamaliuk (Seattle Thunderbirds)

Arthur Kaliyev (Hamilton Bulldogs)

Peyton Krebs (Kootenay ICE)

Raphaël Lavoie (Halifax Mooseheads)

Brett Leason (Prince Albert Raiders)

Nathan Légaré (Baie-Comeau Drakkar)

Connor McMichael (London Knights)

Sasha Mutala (Tri-City Americans)

Jakob Pelletier (Moncton Wildcats)

Samuel Poulin (Sherbrooke Phoenix)

Jamieson Rees (Sarnia Sting)

Nick Robertson (Peterborough Petes)

Ryan Suzuki (Barrie Colts)

Philip Tomasino (Niagara IceDogs)

Josh Williams (Medicine Hat Tigers)

Oleg Zaytsev (Red Deer Rebels)

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.