Host cities announced for 2019 CIBC Canada Russia Series


WHL's Scott Walford, of Victoria, tries to clear Russia's Artyom Nikolaev from getting off a shot. (Jonathan Hayward/CP)

The CHL has announced the six cities that will host the CIBC Canada Russia Series from Nov. 4 to 14.

The league revealed Thursday that the opening contest on Monday, Nov. 4, will be held at Saint John, N.B. Game 2 will take place a few hours away in Moncton the following day. The series then heads west, with Game 3 set to be played in Kitchener, Ont., on Thursday, Nov. 7. Game 4 in London, Ont., will take place on Monday, Nov. 11.

Saskatoon hosts Game 5 on Wednesday, Nov. 13, then the series concludes in Prince Albert, Sask., on Nov. 14.

All games will be broadcast nationally on Sportsnet and TVA Sports.


The series, which helps Team Canada evaluate talent prior to the world junior hockey championship, features CHL teams competing against the Russian national junior team.

“The Canada and Russia rivalry is like no other in hockey and continues to ignite passion among the players competing on the ice and for the fans following along in CHL communities across the country,” CHL president David Branch said in a press release.

“This is a showcase of our league’s best players and the stars who will proudly don the maple leaf at Christmas as members of Canada’s national junior team in pursuit of gold at the 2020 IIHF World Junior Championship in the Czech Republic.”


When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.