Prince Albert’s Scott, Rimouski’s Lafreniere earn CHL awards


Prince Albert Raiders goalie Ian Scott attempts a save against the Rouyn-Noranda Huskies. (Tim Krochak/CP)

HALIFAX — Rimouski Oceanic star Alexis Lafreniere has been named the Canadian Hockey League’s top player while Toronto Maple Leafs prospect Ian Scott of the Prince Albert Raiders earned top goaltender honours.

The CHL announced their annual award winners Saturday.

Lafreniere, a left-winger projected as an early selection at the 2020 NHL draft, won the Player of the Year title one year after taking the CHL’s Rookie of the Year award. The 17-year-old product of St-Eustache, Que., scored 37 goals and added 68 assists for 105 points in only 61 appearances this season.

He led his team in scoring and finished just six points shy of top spot in the QMJHL scoring race.

Scott also had a banner year, winning 38 of his 49 appearances to help guide the Raiders to first place in the WHL and an eventual 16-7 playoff record that saw the club win its first Ed Chynoweth Cup since 1985.

The 20-year-old Calgary native topped the stats chart with eight shutouts and finished second league-wide in goals-against average (1.83) and save percentage (.932).

Other winners of awards announced Saturday include:

— Top Prospect Award: Bowen Byram, Vancouver Giants

— Top Scorer Award: Jason Robertson, Niagara IceDogs

— Sportsman of the Year Award: Justin Almeida, Moose Jaw Warriors

— Humanitarian of the Year Award: Charle-Edouard D’Astous, Rimouski Oceanic

— Scholastic Player of the Year Award: Dustin Wolf, Everett Silvertips

— Coach of the Year Award: Mario Pouliot, Rouyn-Noranda Huskies

— Rookie of the Year Award: Quinton Byfield, Sudbury Wolves

— Defenceman of the Year Award: Ty Smith, Spokane Chiefs

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.