QMJHL Playoffs: Sea Dogs win President Cup, advance to Memorial Cup

The Saint John Sea Dogs celebrate a goal in their 5-1 win over the Blainville-Boisbriand in Game 4 of the QMJHL final on Wednesday, May 10, 2017. The Sea Dogs swept the series. (Vincent Éthier/QMJHL Media)

BOISBRIAND, Que. — The Saint John Sea Dogs are the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League champions.

Spencer Smallman scored twice on the power play, including the eventual winner, as Saint John beat the Blainville-Boisbriand Armada 5-1 on Wednesday to win the QMJHL’s President Cup in a four-game sweep.

Saint John advances to the Memorial Cup in Windsor, Ont., as the QMJHL champions.

Bokondji Imama, Simon Bourque and Matthew Highmore also scored for the Sea Dogs, while Callum Booth made 20 saves for the win.

Pierre-Luc Dubois was the lone scorer for the Armada and Samuel Montembeault stopped 29 shots in net.

Saint John went 2 for 8 on the power play and Blainville-Boisbriand was 1 for 3 with the man advantage.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.