Stanley Cup will not travel to Russia, Belarus this summer

Tampa Bay Lightning's Steven Stamkos (91) is presented the Stanley Cup from NHL commissioner Gary Bettman as they celebrate after defeating the Dallas Stars in Edmonton on Monday, September 28, 2020. (CP)

The NHL informed players on the Colorado Avalanche and the Tampa Bay Lightning that the Stanley Cup will not travel to Russia or Belarus this summer, deputy commissioner Bill Daly announced on Wednesday.

Players on the Stanley Cup-winning team usually have a day with the trophy at their off-season residences. The league has not ruled out providing a repayment visit in the future.

The decision is in response to the ongoing invasion of Ukraine by Russia, which began in late February. The NHL previously announced it was suspending all business relationships in Russia and Belarus and pausing the use of social channels and digital media sites in those countries.

Both the Avalanche and Lightning have Russian players on their rosters.

The Stanley Cup last made a trip to Russia in September 2021 as part of the celebration for the Lightning's Andrei Vasilevskiy, Nikita Kucherov and Mikhail Sergachev after their second championship win in July.

Comments are turned off for this story.
We use cookies to improve your experience. Learn More or change your cookie preferences. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies.