NHL announces the 32 nominees for the 2021-22 King Clancy Memorial Trophy

New Jersey Devils' P.K. Subban (76) looks for a pass during the first period of an NHL hockey game against the New York Rangers, Sunday, Nov. 14, 2021, in New York. (John Munson/AP)

The NHL announced on Wednesday the 32 players nominated for the 2021-22 King Clancy Memorial Trophy, an honour given annually to the player who “best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community.”

Each NHL team selected one player from their club to be their nominee for the award. A winner will be chosen by a committee of senior NHL executives, led by commissioner Gary Bettman and deputy commissioner Bill Daly.

The full list of players nominated for this year’s King Clancy Tropy. (Courtesy: NHL.com)

Several criteria will be used to determine the eventual winner, including:

• Clear and measurable positive impact on the community
• Investment of time and resources
• Commitment to a particular cause or community
• Commitment to the league’s community initiatives
• Creativity of programming
• Use of influence; engagement of others

The winner of the award will receive a $25,000 donation to benefit a charity — or charities — of their choice. Each of the two runner-ups will receive a $5,000 donation to use the same way.

When submitting content, please abide by our submission guidelines, and avoid posting profanity, personal attacks or harassment. Should you violate our submissions guidelines, we reserve the right to remove your comments and block your account. Sportsnet reserves the right to close a story’s comment section at any time.